Follow Us
Style Pinterest
Style Instagram
Style Twitter
Style Facebook

4 Children’s Books About Civics Fun reads to get your kids interested in the political process

Children's books about civics for kids interested in the political process | Washington FAMILY magazine

The presidential election is more than nine months away, but with coverage of the impeachment all over the news, your kids might be growing curious about our government.

So how can you nurture their interest in the political process? We asked Keren Joshi, children’s librarian at D.C. Public Library’s Deanwood Neighborhood Library, for children’s books that’ll get them hooked on civics. Here’s what she selected:

What's the Big Deal About Elections? Children's Books About Civics | Washington FAMILY

“What’s the Big Deal About Elections” by Ruby Shamir | Nonfiction, grades K-4
Did you know that Election Day is on Tuesday because that was the best day for farmers to vote? Or that George Washington was our only elected president who ran unopposed? Or that Native Americans were only given the right to vote in 1924? It’s all true! Find out more election fun facts.

Book Uncle and Me & Children's Books About Civics | Washington FAMILY

“Book Uncle and Me” by Uma Krishnaswami | Fiction, grades 2-5
Every day, 9-year-old Yasmin borrows a book from Book Uncle, a retired teacher who has set up a free lending library next to her apartment building. But when the mayor tries to shut down the rickety bookstand, Yasmin has to take her nose out of her book and do something.

The Great Greene Heist & Children's Books About Civics | Washington FAMILY

“The Great Greene Heist” by Varian Johnson | Fiction, grades 5-8
Jackson Greene swears he’s given up scheming. Then school bully Keith Sinclair announces he’s running for Student Council president, against Jackson’s former friend Gaby de la Cruz. Gaby wants Jackson to stay out of it, but does he?

Your Own Worst Enemy & Children's Books About Civics | Washington FAMILY

“Your Own Worst Enemy” by Gordon Jack | Fiction, grades 9-12
For fans of Andrew Smith and Frank Portman and movies such as “Election” and “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off” comes a hilarious and satirical novel about the highs and (very low) lows of the electoral process, proving that the popular vote is the one that matters most.

Raising a political junkie? Here’s how to talk to your kids about politics during this tumultuous era of civic engagement.

About WF Staff

Washington FAMILY Staff

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.